RIP Steve Jobs

I woke up early this morning intending to review my MBB 140 lectures for the last time. But when I saw the news on Twitter, I couldn’t focus anymore on my studies.

1955-2011

RIP Mr. Steve Jobs.

It’s such a sad moment for the world. We have truly lost someone who is not just any normal successful achiever/entrepreneur/genius. He is THE best. No one can even come close in comparison. I truly believe we won’t find any other Steve Jobs in the future. I don’t know if this is true for everyone but whenever I think of Steve Jobs, I am always in awe because he is the real deal. Someone who is truly inspiring and visionary in a field that truly defines our generation. Forget all the pop icons, the generous philanthropists, the powerful politicians…this guy is a simple guy with a not-so-simple outlook in life. And by sharing to us his creative ingenuity, our lives became much more colorful.

It truly is crazy yet amazing when one realizes how impactful Apple products are. People from all over the world and from different classes are now more tech-savvy because of them. And this is one great characteristic that Mr. Jobs has put forward. Being able to reach out and touch millions (no, billions!) of lives through his products…that is a hard job to do. Even my dad, who does not usually show interest in these kind of products, can’t keep his hands off my iTouch. See? If Steve Jobs can make my dad love the iTouch, then he’s definitely the real deal!

His legacy will stay forever, that is for sure. His memory will live on in each Apple product sold.

I’d like to end this post with an excerpt from Mr. Steve Jobs’ commencement address in Stanford back in 2005. It has truly left an impression on me.

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking backwards. You have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart even if it leads you off the well worn path and that will make all the difference.”

Watch his commencement address here:

Thank you Steve Jobs. Rest in peace up there. And now, I shall download Pirates of the Silicon Valley and watch it again and again and again.

2 thoughts on “RIP Steve Jobs

  1. Ain’t that the truth. I read this tweet that he was born out of wedlock, put for adoption, dropped college yet he changed the world. So for us more fortunate, there’s no excuse. We lost someone great but truly, his legacy will forever live on. No one will forget Steve Jobs ever. Nice post, Daia!

Leave a Reply

