Singapura Summer 2011

I only have three more exams until this sem is over! And since sembreak is so close, I keep on rekindling my summer memories. Hay, those were the happy -and stress-free- days.

This post is about my brief trip to Singapore last summer  with my internship friends. We went there for a weekend only but I really had fun. We were very tourist-y having our cameras out while taking pictures everywhere. But who wouldn’t want to take pictures of hip, ultra-modern Singapore?

I can imagine myself living there. How can a place be so efficient in everything? Hmph..intelligent people. The only glitch though is that they have a high cost of living. Boo.

Here are some pictures:

Meet my friends! From left to right: my teammate Ara; my Sbuddy (Singaporean buddy) Keenly; fellow interns from KL Gab, Anna, and Omar)

First thing I saw when i stepped off the train. Haha. It took us 7 hours to travel from KL to Singapore. We took the night train on our way back. Cooli-o.

I didn’t mind getting lost because taking the MRT was easy and fun. Plus, they have malls located near each station and have art installations (picture above) everywhere. Creative people talaga.

Our hostel was located in Little India near Bugis (picture above). Bugis street is love. Lots of good food and great finds. Some shops were wild! Haha, there were lots of them. There were plenty of people too. But the more, the merrier, right?

My Sbuddy and I went to Marina Bay and boy was it pretty. Everything was modern and there were lots of light! We got to see the light show and Marina Sands was awesome. Too bad we didn’t check out the bar at the rooftop. Next time, I’ll definitely go there. You get to see (almost) the whole Singapore.

Cool architecture, huh? The Marina Mall (picture above) is so chic and very detailed. The picture before that is the bridge going to the Singapore Flyer and the durian-shaped mall. My pictures were blurry, too sad.

The next day, we went to Orchard Road and ate the best Waffle Ice Cream ever! Our roommate back in Penang recommended it so we had to try it! Definitely met my expectation. Haha. Afterwards, we went to Sentosa to check out a great mall called Vivo City, Resorts World, and of course Universal Studios!


 I always have the time of my life at amusement parks. And so far, it’s the best one I’ve been to. Universal beats Disneyland hands down (well, except for the Disneyland shows)! My favorite ride was the Battlestar Galactica Rollercoaster. I tried both the red and blue ones and I gotta say, the Cyclon one was great. Great great feeling. There was even some mist underground part. This ride was ingenious. It really pulled of the Human vs. Robot theme.

(from top to bottom, clockwise: Keenly looking lost; We love Po; Madagascar is awesome) The staff who took our picture at the Madagascar area broke Keenly’s camera so he gave us free souvenirs and money!

 We went to see the Merlion in Sentosa because the one in Marina Bay couldn’t be found (it was under construction haha). I loved this place. There were lots of lights and a perfect place for friends and families to gather and eat. The Merlion was cool. I would love to clone it someday, seriously HAHAHA.

Overall, I had a blast in Singapore. There were some major down moments (mixed dorm sucks haha, never again) but all the great moments were unforgettable and they still keep on popping into my mind (especially when I’m studying haha). I’m glad I had an opportunity like this –to travel to another country spontaneously with friends. With your family around, you feel secure whenever you’re in a foreign land and you never have to worry about yourself that much because you’re dependent on your parents. But travelling with friends is a different and exciting experience because you get to be more adventurous. You also realize that you need to be careful and take care of yourself (and your budget as well). I had a good time doing that because it makes me feel like I am taking on the world by myself and it’s making me a better, stronger person. Chos.

Shopping + amusement parks + great architecture + taking care of myself= ONE GREAT WEEKEND.

Leave a Reply

