My Thoughts on: Pride and Prejudice

the Bennet sisters

For the past couple of days, I’ve been re-reading the Jane Austen novel, Pride and Prejudice. It is one of my favorite books ever since I’m such a girly girl who loves simple romance stories (hahahaha). The 2005 movie version starring Kiera Knightley is also one of the best book-to-movie adaptations ever, in my opinion. In fact, Pride and Prejudice and The Godfather are the only two movies that I’ve seen that I think has remained very faithful to its book. The screenplay was very similar to the novel, the costumes and settings were unbelievable, and the soundtrack was just splendid! Seriously, if I could wake up in a place such as theirs, I bet I would have lived my life more happily. But no, I was born in a different era. You know, sometimes I wanna be an actress (or any job related to film) just so I can be in an alternate universe set. Weirdo.The actors were really good especially Kiera Knightley who was around 20 at that time, can you believe it? I loved Jane and Bingley who were a couple in real life long before filming started. However, they broke up and now, Bingley is gay!!! Yeah, I was shocked when I researched about them two days ago hahaha but nevertheless I’m happy for him (#partialchos) and he’s still as gwapo as he was before so all is good. HAHAHA. And who can forget Mr. Darcy, the original dashing hero that all Korean dramas’ leading men look up to? :))

Anyway, this was supposed to be a book and movie review but I don’t really know how to do that. All I know is that I love the simplicity of the story and it surely beats any chick flick nowadays. Lizzy, the heroine of the novel, is a girl that I really look up to. She is very….verbose and funny and sarcastic. I wanna have her disposition because she doesn’t take anything too seriously and really likes to laugh and laugh and laugh…as most silly girls do.

Also, I like the fact that everyone there likes to converse (since they don’t have much to do anyways). Talking to strangers and being polite and all is their primary hobby. I, myself, don’t know how to talk comfortably to other people. Yeah, I just bask in the pure awkwardness of situations. But in this novel, NOOOOO. They seem to like having awkward moments with one another whereas I will definitely run away from people once I feel the awkward conditions surrounding me. Hahaha.

good natured Mr. Bingley ❤

One more thing I love is that they hold balls like every month or so. Which is so awesome because they get to dress up and dance. Back then, I wanted to take line dance as my PE because it seems so cool but I realized that I won’t be needing it at all in my lifetime. Back then in the P&P times, they seem to know every dance move by heart. Actually, one dance takes a full half an hour which is their preferred way of flirting. Hahaha.

I’m going to end this post talking about the one person I absolutely loved: Mr. Darcy. I mean, everyone loves him, right? He’s soooooo…..rich (as Lizzy would say in the movie hahaha). And nice to everyone. And the actor was so gwapo and good. I really loved the fighting scene the two leads had at the garden during the rain. It was so true!

Mr. Darcy!!!!

Anyway, I really recommend reading this book and watching it, even the boys! I know, it’s written in the pre-pre-pre-Spice Girls Britain time and Austen’s writing style may be hard to understand but if you focus hard enough, you will understand and appreciate it. Haha, if it helps..watch the movie with subtitles first and then read the novel. Trust me, the movie is really fits the book so you can imagine all circumstances pretty easily.

The novel and movie pretty much relie on the casual bantering of characters in dialogue showing their quick wit and interest. I wish people nowadays would talk about the same interesting topics instead of gossiping about the Kardashians. Joke lang, gusto ko rin mag-gossip about the Kardashians hahahaha. Still, I wish there were more substantial things that we can still talk about.

Here are my favorite quotes from the movie and book:

“In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you hhow ardently I admire and love you.” – pompous Mr. Darcy before the fight scene at Kent (book)

“You must know…surely, you must know it was all for you……I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.” – Mr. Darcy proposing for the second time. Swoon to that! (movie)

“What delight! What felicity! You give me fresh life and vigor. Adieu to disappointment and spleen. What are young men to rocks and mountains? Oh! what hours of transport we shall spend! And when we do return, it shall not be like other travelers, without being able to five one accurate idea of anything. We will know where we have gone–we will recollect what we have seen. Lakes, mountains, and rivers shall not be jumbled together in our imaginations.” – the joys of travelling according to Lizzy Bennett (book) and yes, travel>boys HAHAHA

beautiful

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” – the unforgettable first sentence of the novel. I actually memorized this! My favorite opening line next to Harry Potter’s.

Next on my to read list would be: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies! Can’t wait to find a decent purchase on iBooks 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

