Book Keeper

Thursday! Before anything else, have a blessed and meaningful Holy Week everyone!

Two bookstores had a book sale last weekend so I decided to buy books which I can read for the one week vacation I have before summer class. I’m currently on my third book (in four days) and it startles me how fast I read. It’s not like I’m hurrying to finish (cause there’s no pressure from acads) or whatever but still it sucks. I hate the feeling you get when you realize you are pages away from the end of a book, especially when you are enjoying it too much you don’t want it to end. Maybe I’m reading too fast because I got used to reading only in between exams. Ang labo. Anyway, I vow to continuously read books from now on so that I can find my right reading rate (may ganon).

Wanna share just a little bit of something something about these books I have read/still reading. Just to note, all of them are debut novels. I love reading debut novels (or should I say novel novels hihi labo) because they offer something fresh. It’s like getting to know a new friend cause you get to know stories from his/her point of view (naks). And, they are all in the Young Adult (YA) category because well, I am not a girl not yet a woman but a YOUNG ADULT. Once again, ang labo.

As I mentioned before, I’m not good at reviewing or criticizing books. I can only be good at being a book recommender (is there such a word? shaaaame). Here they are:

Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being A Wallflower

And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.

Who knew male teenagers can be very sensitive? Anyway, I loved it. Lots of quotable quotes and deep meanings written in subtle sentences. Really does remind me of one of my favorite books of all time, A Separate Peace. I think I’ve gotten so used to reading books in the girls’ narrative that its refreshing to see stories from boys’ perceptions, especially that of a socially awkward but nonetheless smart boy like Charlie. I shall also add to my Canon List the books that Charlie has read and the music that he has listened to and hopefully I can read all of them books in a year(in the same order when he read it) and listen to his music during a road trip which shall make me feel infinite.  Pero I shall prepare myself muna. I need to scourge for the books in stores and libraries because I don’t want to read them in ebooks or in the Ipad. I have to smell and feel the book itself para legit. Hahaha. Para ma-feel ko ang aking self-growth. I’m excited for the movie adaptation because I think the cast looks great and I honestly love every character in this book. I honestly do. They are real and funny and normal that’s why it really gets to you. Plus I am dying to see Nina Dobrev acting as Charlie’s bitch of a sister and Ezra Miller as charming Patrick. Oh and of course, my boyfriend Logan Lerman HAHA.

John Green’s Looking for Alaska

How do you get out of the labyrinth of suffering?

I borrowed my cousin’s copy and this book is really something (how incoherent my sentences are). I thought I would cry because my cousins cried when they read it but I didn’t. SHOCKER, since this is John Green after all. What this book gave me is a deeper sense of appreciation of things in general. You name it–life, friendship, boarding schools, boys, girls, and more. I was not completely in love with the characters in the story (ahem Alaska ahem) but throughout reading, I’ve come to appreciate all of them –their flaws, strengths, and weaknesses. They are indeed great characters reminiscent of real life and ohhh I just wished I studied in a boarding school and got to experience a student life like theirs. Very angsty but their troubles and drama are too important to ignore. I love Pudge and the Colonel. What a bromance–parang A Separate Peace din. After reading this, I realized that I am in love with John Green’s writing style. Not too hard to understand but still pretty insightful about life. Daming quotable quotes which is enough evidence to how awesome his mind is. I still like the Fault In Our Stars more (to be honest) because of the matinding emotions I felt while reading it. Damn, I am seriously in need of another John Green book.

Lastly, I’ve been reading Weeping Underwater Looks a Lot Like Laughter by Michael J. White.

I visited her because I didn't feel the need to make a fraud of myself in order to win her ease and affection.

So far, it’s pretty okay but quite hard to understand –you know, deep words and  cryptic sentences. Still, it’s a different writing style I am more than willing to embrace. I will say this right now though–I love one of the characters, Katie. Why? She’s a 13-year-old who has multiple sclerosis and a beagle. She even says that beagles are perfect family dogs and that they are “gregarious, outgoing, playful, and happiest around people.” Is this THE sign or what? I’ve been contemplating on which dog I’ll get when the perfect time comes. A dachschund or a beagle (since they’re so cute and I don’t like furry dogs)? Beagle it is.

In the coming months, I would like to read more YA novels because they really get to me. A mixture of romance plus coming of age plus teen angst plus life in general quotes–nothing can go wrong with that.

Here are a list of books I must acquire soon:

Paper Towns, An Abundance of Katherines, Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green

Thirteen Reasons Why  by Jay Asher (sounds intriguing)

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (everyone’s talking about it and i want to start another series too)

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Hadden

The Catcher in The Rye by J.D. Salinger

——-

So all in all, nag-fefeeling nanaman ako na mature ako kasi ang dami kong natutunan sa mga binabasa ko. About life and relationships in general. Not everyone can be purely happy all the time. Not everyone can be labeled into just one type. Everyone’s a mixture of elements and one can either judge and be closed off from the world or discover and embrace and live off from the world.

all photos from tttttumblr

5 thoughts on “Book Keeper

  1. Ezra Miller! May Will Grayson ako though ebook lang. Ang ganda, Cel! Very introspective post. 🙂 And pinahiram ako ni Lorenz ng The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. Medyo personal yung book na yun for me because it felt close to home. Parang Flowers for Algernon lang. Anyway, a blessed Holy Week din to you! And, LONG LIVE YOUNG ADULT BOOKS!

      • I mean, pinahiram ako ni Lorenz pero binalik ko na sa kanya. So kay Lorenz mo na lang hiramin. I-email ko nalang yung Will Grayson sayo. 🙂 I’m reading Lola and the Boy Next Door ngayon. Nahiya naman ako sa binabasa ko, napaka-romance-centric lang unlike your semi-deep ones. 😛

  2. Okie! Hihi Mukhang maganda din iyang Lola and the Boy Next Door!! And ayoko muna magbasa ng deep ones for now medyo may suicidal theme iyong tatlong books sa post na ito! haha kastress (nagbabasa ako ng Lizzie Mcguire books from the old days haha)

    • Uhm, katatapos ko lang kanina. Okay lang sya, romance. Wala masyadong ibang theme. Gusto ko kasi yung tipong coming-of-age din. Haha! Mas maganda daw pala yung first book ng author na Anna and the French Kiss. 🙂 Tama iyan. Nawawala na nga Babysitter’s Club books ko eh. Yun pa naman ang aking guilty pleasure. Kapag yumaman na ako, bibilhin ko yung buong collection. Haha!

Leave a Reply

